You are here: Home / User Group Association Program / Book Reviews / Learning the bash Shell, Third Edition reviewed by William Deegan, August 2006

Search results

Blog Entry Python The Hard Way reviewed by Ryan Matthew Balfanz by Tony Cappellini posted on Jan 11, 2014 07:30 PM
I have known of LearnPythonTheHardWay.com for some time, but never spent much time on the site. I have even blindly referred friends to the site, based solely on the notion that I have heard it was a pretty good resource for learning Python. I’m glad I finally sat down to check out a hardcopy of Learn Python the Hard Way (3rd Edition), which comes with a DVD containing over 5 hours of video instruction, though I didn’t bother check it out.
Blog Entry Programming Computer Vision with Python by Jan Erik Solem, review by Christopher Lee-Messer by Tony Cappellini posted on Sep 09, 2012 01:48 AM
Computer vision is a fascinating subject and in recent years it has gone from being an academic pursuit to a practical everyday technology. Anyone who does Google searches or uses a smartphone likely makes use of computer vision algorithms on a regular basis, perhaps without even knowing it. Computer vision plays key roles in a broad range of fields from law enforcement, manufacturing, biology, and medicine to social media and gaming.
Blog Entry Review of Coders At Work by Stephen Seibel review by Bryce Verdier by Tony Cappellini posted on Sep 03, 2012 02:55 PM
I just finished reading the book Coders at Work by Peter Seibel. This wonderful book is filled with interviews with prominent programmers: Joe Armstrong, Simon Peyton Jones, Donald Knuth, among others. My review isn't going to be the standard book review. Instead I'm going to talk about some of the specific ideas I picked up while reading the book and discuss those ideas, rather than the book itself.
Blog Entry Programming Computer Vision With Python by Jan Erik Solem, review by John Wegis by Tony Cappellini posted on Aug 28, 2012 03:21 AM
The first 226 pages of content are split across ten chapters with the remaining 21 pages making up the Appendix, References, and Index. I found the PDF version very readable on a 15" laptop in two-page mode.
Blog Entry Programming Computer Vision With Python by Jan Erik Solem, review by Patrick Mihelich by Tony Cappellini posted on Aug 28, 2012 03:10 AM
Opening the table of contents, I was immediately impressed by the selection of topics. Computer vision is a broad field, and PCVwP manages to cover plenty of ground.
Blog Entry RabbitMQ In Action by Alvaro Videla and Jason J.W. Williams Review by Ryan Balfanz by Tony Cappellini posted on Jun 16, 2012 11:25 PM
I started reading "RabbitMQ in Action" having already used it in production. That said, I was still a bit unclear about some aspects of messaging in general: AMPQ and RabbitMQ, specifically. My previous experience included deploying RabbitMQ on AWS and using it to offload the job of sending many e-mails from my main application. For that I used django-celery.
Blog Entry Arduino Cookbook 2nd Edition by Michael Margolis, review by Tony Cappellini by Tony Cappellini posted on Mar 19, 2012 12:00 AM
At 700 pages, the Arduino Cookbook 2nd Edition is just slightly thicker than the first edition. The recipes, recipe count, layout, format are very similar.
Blog Entry The Python Standard Library by Example, written by Doug Hellman, Review by Tony Cappellini by Tony Cappellini posted on Sep 24, 2011 11:20 PM
This review was written on the printed version of the book. Another review of this publication was done using the ebook version and can be found elsewhere on this site. Doug Hellman is probably best known for the Python Module Of The Week website (PyMOTW). This site has been de-mystifying Python modules for many users. The Python Standard Library by Example takes that idea to the next level.
Blog Entry Scaling CouchDB by Bradley Holt, review by Luke Gotszling by Tony Cappellini posted on Sep 18, 2011 05:55 PM
CouchDB, while tolerant of failure during writes and supporting replication, suffers a bit in that it's not designed from start for more sophisticated clustering (including failover and sharding).
Blog Entry The Python Standard Library by Example, written by Doug Hellman, Review by Ryan Balfanz by Tony Cappellini posted on Aug 05, 2011 04:25 AM
If you have ever worked with Python, you have probably come across Python Module of the Week (PyMOTW) or virtualenvwrapper. Both are the work of Doug Hellmann.
Log in


Forgot your password?
New user?
Mailing List

Please click here to sign up or edit your subscription.